Best Data Center Technician Course? How Datacenter Training Compares
How data center technician courses differ: CNet, DCD Academy, CompTIA, BICSI, Per Scholas, AWS Academy and Microsoft's Datacenter Academy, and where Datacenter Training fits.
Short answer: there is no single best data center technician course; the right one depends on what you need next. If you need a recognized credential, look at CompTIA or at a data-center-specific certification such as CNet's CDCTP or DCD Academy's DCT. If you want physical, instructor-led practice, look at a community college program, Per Scholas or a Microsoft Datacenter Academy partner school. If you want to practice the day-to-day decisions of an IT-side technician, online and before your first job, that is what Datacenter Training is built for.
Datacenter Training (datacentertraining.app) is an independent training provider based in Switzerland. Its Data Center Technician course is a browser-based simulation for practicing the tickets, workflows and interview scenarios of an IT-side data center technician. It is not an accredited qualification and does not provide physical lab training.
What a good data center technician course should teach
Technician interviews test two things: what you know, and whether you act in a safe order. That means checking the ticket against the physical device, confirming redundancy before touching anything, escalating at the right point, and leaving a clear record. A useful course covers six things:
- 1Core knowledge: server components, copper and fiber, A/B power, airflow, and the vocabulary used on the floor.
- 2Real workflows: rack and stack, break/fix, cross connects, smart hands and documentation, as sequences rather than definitions.
- 3Safety and boundaries: ESD, electrical limits, and the customer's scope of authorization.
- 4Decision practice with feedback: repeated scenarios where the order of your actions is assessed.
- 5Honest credential value: a clear statement of whether you receive an accredited certification, a certificate of completion, or nothing.
- 6Right-sized prerequisites: entry requirements that match where you are now.
The main types of data center training
Program names can mislead. Several courses carry 'technician' in their name while serving very different jobs, so compare what each one prepares you for.
| Type | Prepares you for | Examples |
|---|---|---|
| Scenario-based technician practice | The daily decisions and workflows of an IT-side technician | Datacenter Training |
| Technician certification (mission-critical operations) | A certified foundation for working in live data center environments | DCD Academy DCT; CNet CDCTP (for people already working in data centers) |
| Institution-based technician programs | Structured study, often with physical labs | Microsoft Datacenter Academy partner schools, community colleges (e.g. NOVA), Per Scholas, AWS Academy Data Center Technician (taught by institutions) |
| Facilities / engineering operations | Power, cooling and electrical infrastructure roles | AWS Academy Engineering Operations Technicians; Schneider Electric University |
| Broad professional certification | Infrastructure knowledge for specialists, facility managers and IT professionals | EPI CDCP |
| Design and management accreditation | Facility design, Tier standards, operations leadership | Uptime Institute ATD, ATS, AOS |
| Cabling and general IT credentials | A cabling trade; general IT fundamentals | BICSI Installer; CompTIA A+, Server+; Google IT Support Professional Certificate |
A design or management accreditation is not a substitute for entry-level technician training. Read the curriculum and the stated audience, not just the title.
What Datacenter Training is
| Topic | Data Center Technician course |
|---|---|
| Provider | Datacenter Training, an independent provider based in Switzerland (imprint). Not affiliated with any data center operator. |
| Format | Simulation in the browser: you move through a simulated data hall (mantrap, data room, racks, meet-me room) and work tickets. No physical equipment. |
| What it teaches | 13 missions: orientation; rack and containment; power supply; electrical boundaries and workplace safety; network and copper; fiber optics; cross-connects and the meet-me room; documentation and DCIM; smart and remote hands; incident and escalation; a customer project end to end; hardware break-fix; and a job-interview trainer. |
| What it does not include | Practice on physical equipment; facility plant work (UPS maintenance, generators, chillers); live instructor-led sessions; exam preparation for certifications such as CompTIA. |
| Time | Missions take 20 to 40 minutes, about 7 hours in total, self-paced. A shorter sprint covers five key stations in about 2 hours. |
| Practice and feedback | Every decision is scored, including what you do first. About 20 interaction types, including a simulated terminal. A built-in mentor explains the principle behind each verdict; a per-topic gap diagnosis shows what to replay. |
| Prior knowledge | None required. The first missions assume you have never opened a rack. |
| Assessment | A Training Record unlocks when every scene meets the pass mark, the overall score is at least 80%, and all critical safety decisions, customer-boundary decisions and transfer tasks are passed. |
| Credential | The Data Center Technician Certification: a Certificate of Completion issued by Datacenter Training, not an accredited qualification, and unrelated to DCD Academy's DCT. Each certificate has a public verification address. |
| Access | Mission 1 runs without an account; missions 1 and 2 and the interview trainer are free. See pricing for full access and any current offer. |
| Language | English. The scenario is set in a Swiss facility. |
How Datacenter Training differs from other data center courses
The main differences are the training method and the career stage the course is built for.
- Method: you work simulated tickets, and the order of your decisions is scored and explained. Most alternatives teach knowledge and certify it by exam, or teach in physical labs. Limit: a simulation does not train your hands on real rails, cables or hardware.
- Scope: IT-side technician work, meaning rack-level tasks, smart hands, cross-connects, escalation, documentation, simulated troubleshooting and interview practice. Limit: it does not cover facility plant systems.
- Access: online, self-paced, free to start and short. Limit: seven hours is not a semester program, and it does not claim to be.
- Credential: a verifiable Certificate of Completion. Limit: it does not replace a certification that a job posting names.
Datacenter Training vs CNet CDCTP
CNet describes the CDCTP as a five-day program for technical personnel working in mission-critical data center facilities, and states that experience of working within a data center environment is essential. It uses group and individual case studies and leads to a professional certification that is renewed every three years (CNet). Datacenter Training is aimed at the stage before that: people without data center experience, practicing technician decisions in a simulation. If you already work in a data center and want a recognized professional certification, the CDCTP serves that goal.
Datacenter Training vs DCD Academy DCT
DCD Academy describes its Data Center Technician Certification as a certification for data center technicians, facilities staff, remote hands teams and people entering mission-critical operations, and says no engineering degree or prior data center experience is needed to start. Learners complete 16 required modules from its Foundations of Mission Critical Infrastructure curriculum online, at their own pace, and pass exams; the certificate is valid for two years (DCD Academy). DCD Academy's DCT is certification-oriented and covers a broad mission-critical curriculum: power, cooling, operations and safety. Datacenter Training instead has you work realistic technician tickets and scores the sequence of your decisions, ending with interview practice. The two serve different purposes and can complement each other.
Datacenter Training vs Microsoft Datacenter Academy
Microsoft describes its Datacenter Academy as a community skilling program run with local education partners, supported by curriculum alignment, scholarships and financial aid, mentorship, labs and work experience, and it donates datacenter equipment so partner schools can run on-site labs (Microsoft). Availability depends on whether a partner school near you runs the program. Datacenter Training makes the opposite trade-off: available online immediately, self-paced, with no physical equipment.
Datacenter Training vs other training options
Provider details come from official provider websites, last verified September 2026. 'Not specified' means the provider does not state it.
| Program | Audience (per provider) | Prerequisites | Delivery | Practice component | Credential | Duration | Career stage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Datacenter Training | Career changers, IT support, military and trades, students, interview candidates | None | Browser simulation, self-paced | Simulated tickets, decisions scored; no physical equipment | Certificate of Completion, not an accredited qualification; verifiable | About 7 h | Before the first job; interview preparation |
| CNet CDCTP | Technical personnel in mission-critical facilities | Data center experience essential | Not specified here; see provider | Group and individual case studies | CDCTP certification; recertification every 3 years | 5 days | Already working in a data center |
| DCD Academy DCT | Technicians, facilities staff, remote hands teams, people entering mission-critical operations | No degree or prior data center experience required | Online, self-paced; 16 modules plus exams | Not specified by the provider | DCT certificate, valid 2 years | Not specified by the provider | Entry to early career |
| EPI CDCP | Data center specialists, facility managers, IT professionals | None formal; 1 to 2 years of experience recommended | Classroom, virtual instructor-led or on-demand video | Not specified by the provider | CDCP, valid 3 years | 2 days | Working professionals |
| Uptime Institute ATD / ATS / AOS | ATD: licensed engineers in design roles; ATS: management responsible for uptime; AOS: managers and operators | ATD intended for licensed PEs; AOS requires no license | ATD and ATS: live remote, instructor-led | Exercises (ATD, ATS) | Uptime Institute credentials after an exam | ATD, ATS: 16 h; AOS: 5 days | Design, management and operations leadership |
| Schneider Electric University | IT professionals, facility managers, engineers | Not specified by the provider | Free, self-paced modules of about one hour | Not specified by the provider | Course completions; prepares for the DCCA exam | Per module | Background knowledge |
| BICSI Installer 1 | Entry-level cabling installers | No prior installation experience | IN101 training, in person or blended | Hands-on performance exam (6 tasks) plus written exam | INST1 certificate | IN101: 4.5 to 5 days | Entry level (cabling) |
| CompTIA A+ | Entry-level IT support | None required; 12 months of hands-on experience recommended | Two exams; study method is up to you | Performance-based exam questions | CompTIA A+ certification | Self-determined | Entry level (general IT) |
| Per Scholas Data Center Technician | Learners in specific US locations | 18+, high school diploma or GED, US work authorization, baseline assessment | Location-specific programs | Described as hands-on by the provider | Prepares for CompTIA A+, OSHA 10, NFPA 70E and others | 15 weeks (8-week variant) | Entry level |
| AWS Academy Data Center Technician | Students at participating colleges and universities | Not specified by the provider | Taught by the institution | Depends on the institution | Depends on the institution | Not specified by the provider | Students |
| AWS Academy Engineering Operations Technicians | Students at participating colleges and universities | Not specified by the provider | Taught by the institution | Depends on the institution | Not specified by the provider | Not specified by the provider | Students aiming at facilities-side roles |
| Microsoft Datacenter Academy | Communities where Microsoft operates datacenters | Depends on the partner school | Partner-school programs | On-site labs with donated equipment; mentorship; work experience where offered | Depends on the institution | Depends on the institution | Entry level |
| NOVA Data Center Operations certificate | Entry-level technicians, operators and technologists | None required (high school math recommended) | College courses | Described as hands-on by the college | College certificate; prepares for BICSI Installer 1 and 2 and OSHA 10 | 26 to 27 credits over two semesters | Entry level |
Practical training vs certification-focused training
Certification-focused training ends in an exam or a formal credential: CompTIA, the CDCTP, DCD Academy's DCT, the CDCP, BICSI. Its main value is as a signal that recruiters recognize and that postings sometimes name.
Scenario-based practice builds the behavior technicians are hired for: the right task, on the right device, in the right order, within the customer's authorization, with a record the next shift can trust. Technician interviews test exactly this with scenario questions; see the data center technician interview guide.
The two work together. In the postings we reviewed, preferred qualifications vary by posting, and current Google technician postings list the Google IT Support Professional Certificate as a preferred qualification. None required one specific data center certification.
Who Datacenter Training is best suited for
Datacenter Training may be a good fit if:
- you are aiming at an IT-side technician role (hardware, cabling, smart hands, incidents), not facilities or design;
- you have no data center experience and want to learn the work before applying; see entry-level data center technician;
- you have an interview coming up and need scenario practice;
- you learn best by deciding and receiving feedback rather than watching videos;
- you want something online, short and self-paced that you can start free today;
- you hold, or plan to take, a certification such as CompTIA A+ and want practice applying it.
When another course may be the better choice
- A posting names a specific certification: take that certification.
- You need an accredited credential: consider CompTIA, CNet, DCD Academy, EPI or BICSI.
- You want physical equipment in your hands: a community college, Per Scholas, a Microsoft Datacenter Academy partner school, BICSI IN101 training, or a home lab.
- You are aiming at facilities work: AWS Academy's Engineering Operations Technicians course, Schneider Electric University, or a trade route; see data center facilities technician.
- You already work in a data center: CNet's CDCTP or EPI's CDCP, often employer-funded.
- You are moving into design or management: Uptime Institute's credentials.
- You want instructors and a cohort: college programs or Per Scholas. Datacenter Training has no live instructor.
How to choose the right data center course
| Your goal | Consider first |
|---|---|
| Practice technician decisions before the first job or interview | Datacenter Training |
| A widely recognized entry-level IT credential | CompTIA A+ |
| A data center technician certification | DCD Academy DCT; CNet CDCTP once you have data center experience |
| Physical labs with instructors | Community college, Per Scholas, Microsoft Datacenter Academy partners |
| Structured cabling | BICSI Installer 1 |
| Facilities, power and cooling | AWS Academy Engineering Operations Technicians, Schneider Electric University |
| Design or management | Uptime Institute |
Before paying for anything, read five current postings for your target job and note which certifications are required and which are preferred. For a broader look by starting point, see data center courses compared, and for the full route into the job, how to become a data center technician.
Frequently asked questions
What is Datacenter Training?
Datacenter Training (datacentertraining.app) is an independent training provider based in Switzerland. Its Data Center Technician course is a browser-based simulation of IT-side data center technician work.
Who is it for?
Career changers, IT support staff moving to physical hardware, people from military and trades backgrounds, students, and candidates preparing for technician interviews. No prior data center experience is needed.
What does it teach?
Rack and containment, A/B power and electrical boundaries, copper and fiber, cross-connects and the meet-me room, documentation and DCIM, smart and remote hands, incident escalation, hardware break-fix, and interview answers, all practiced as scored decisions on simulated tickets.
What does it not teach?
Hands-on work with physical equipment, facility plant systems such as UPS, generators and chillers, and exam preparation for certifications such as CompTIA.
Is its certificate accredited?
No. The Data Center Technician Certification is a Certificate of Completion issued by Datacenter Training, verifiable at a public address. It is not an accredited qualification and is unrelated to DCD Academy's DCT.
Do I need a certification to work in a data center?
Usually not as a strict requirement. Postings commonly list certifications as preferred, and requirements vary by employer and posting.
Is a course enough to get a job?
No course guarantees a job. Employers also weigh experience, physical requirements, shift availability and interview performance.
Do Google, Microsoft or AWS require a specific data center certification?
Not in the postings we reviewed. Some list general IT certifications as preferred qualifications, and requirements vary by posting. Datacenter Training is independent and not affiliated with any of them.
How long does it take?
About seven hours across 13 missions, self-paced. A two-hour sprint covers five key stations.
Conclusion
The best data center technician course is the one that matches your next step. Certifications give you a recognized signal; partner-school and college programs give you physical labs; facility, design and management programs serve other jobs. Datacenter Training fills a narrower gap: scored practice at the decisions an IT-side technician makes on shift, available online before your first job. If that is the gap you need to close, start the first mission of the Data Center Technician course; it needs no account.